Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

  • Department Staff

    Renato Ramirez

    Chair, Department of Social Sciences

    HH 226 | (361) 698-1631 | rramirez@delmar.edu  


    Stephanie Ding

    Assistant Chair

    HH 212 | (361) 698-1625 | sding@delmar.edu


    Lucy Medina

    Administrative Assistant

    HH 101 | (361) 698-1228 | lmedina16@delmar.edu


  • History

    Dawson Barrett

    HH 122 | (361) 698-1630 | dbarrett2@delmar.edu

    Education:
    Ph.D, History, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (2013)
    M.A., History, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (2007)
    B.A., History, Portland State University (2004) 

    Courses:
    History 1301
    History 1302

    Books:
    The Defiant: Protest Movements in Post-Liberal America (New York University Press, 2018)

    Teenage Rebels: Successful High School Activists from the Little Rock Nine to the Class of Tomorrow (Microcosm Publishing, 2015)

    Research Interests:
    Post-1945 US, Neoliberalism, Democracy, American protest movements, Punk Rock, Countercultures, Civil Rights, Labor, other rabble rousers and troublemakers!

    Student Projects:
    South Texas Rabble Rousers Local History Blog  


    Gerald Betty

    HH 129 | (361) 698-1369 | gbetty@delmar.edu


    Brian Hart

    HH 205 | (361) 698-1369 | bhart@delmar.edu


    James Klein

    HH 224 | (361) 698-2391 | jklein3@delmar.edu


    Erinn McComb

    HH 234 | (361) 698-1368 | emccomb1@delmar.edu

    Education:
    Ph.D, History, Mississippi State University (2012)
    M.S., International Relations, Troy University (2007)
    B.A., History, University of South Florida (2003)

    Courses:
    US History to 1865
    US History since 1865
    Modern Western World

    Research Interests:
    World War II, The Cold War, Gender, Civil Rights, Flight/Spaceflight, Technology, and Foreign Policy

    Publications:
    "Taking Off: National Security, Identity, and Aerospace Engineering at Land-Grant Universities, 1957-1970” in Service as Mandate: How American Land-Grant Universities Shaped the Modern World, 1920-2015 edited by Alan I Marcus (Tuscaloosa, A. L.: The University of Alabama Press, 2015).

    "Controlling Men: Masculinity, Technology, and the Discourse of Early American Spaceflight” in Quest: The Journal of American Spaceflight vol. 22, no. 4 (2015).

    Current Research:  
    “What Made it Possible for Sally to Ride?: Cold War Tropes of Domestic Technology”

    “‘Making Tacos in Space’”: Jose Jimenz, Ellen Ochoa, and the Evolutionary History of Hispanics in American Spaceflight, 1958-Present”

    Membership:
    The American Historical Association (AHA)
    The Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)


    Derek Oden

    HH 236 | (361) 698-1325 | doden@delmar.edu

    Education:
    Ph.D, Iowa State University (2006)
    MA, University of Nebraska at Omaha (2000)
    BA, Wartburg College (1995)

    Publications:
    Harvest of Hazards: Family Farming, Accidents, and Expertise in the Corn Belt, 1940-1975. University of Iowa Press, 2017.

    "From Cob to Can: The Development of Iowa’s Sweet Corn Canning Industry," Annals of Iowa

    "Perils of Production: Farm Hazards, Family Farming and the Mechanization of the Corn Belt, 1940-1980," Annals of Iowa

    "Selling Safety: The Farm Safety Movement’s Emergence and Evolution from 1940 to 1975," Agricultural History

    Research Interests:
    Agricultural history, technological history, environmental history 


    Mark Robbins

    HH 206 | (361) 698-1370 | mrobbins1@delmar.edu

    Education:

    Ph.D, History, Brown University, (2009)
    M.A., History, Brown University (2004)
    B.A., History, Univeristy of Michigan, Ann Arbor (2003)

    Courses:
    History 1301
    History 1302
    History 2389

    Publications:

    Middle Class Union: Organizing the ‘Consuming Public’ in Post-World War I America.  Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2017.

    "Making a Middle Class ‘Public’: Middle Class Consumer Activism in Post-First World War America” in Hyman, Louis and Tohill, Joseph, eds., Shopping for Change: Consumer Activism and the Possibilities of Purchasing Power, Ithaca: Cornell University Press & Toronto: Between the Lines Books, 2017.

    "The Open-Ended Potential of Oral History Research: The South Texas Hispanic Farm Labor Communities Oral History Project,” Sound Historian 18 (2016): 7-21. (Co-authored).

    “Spatial Relations in Oral History: The Robstown Migrant Labor Camp Beyond the Federal Period.”  Oral History Review  42:2 (Summer/Fall 2015): 255-276. (Co-authored).

    "Engaging the Contested Memory of the Public Square: Community Collaboration, Archaeology, and Oral History at Corpus Christi’s Artesian Park.”  Public Historian 36:2 (May 2014): 26-50. (Co- authored).

    "Transitioning Labor to the ‘Lean Years:’ The Middle Class and Employer Repression of Organized Labor in Post-World War I Chicago.”  Labor History 54:3 (Fall 2013): 321-342.

    "Bread, Roses, and Other Possibilities: The 1912 Lawrence Textile Strike in Historical Memory.”  Historical Journal of Massachusetts 40 (Summer 2012): 94-121.

    Additional Projects:
    The South Texas Hispanic Farm Labor Communities Oral History Project


    Bryan Edward Stone

    HH 206 | (361) 698-1988 | bstone@delmar.edu

    Education:
    Ph.D, American Studies, University of Texas at Austin (2003)
    M.A., English, University of Virginia (1991)
    B.A., English, University of Texas at Austin (1989)

    Publications:
    Memories of Two Generations: A Yiddish Life in Russia and Texas  (University of Alabama Press, 2016)

    The Chosen Folks: Jews on the Frontiers of Texas  (University of Texas Press, 2003)

    Additional Information:
    Managing Editor,  Southern Jewish History  (an annual peer-reviewed journal)


    Lisa Welch

    HH 210 | (361) 698-1228 | lwelch@delmar.edu


  • Political Science

    Adrian Clark

    HH 228 | (361) 698-1639 | aclark14@delmar.edu


    Elizabeth Flores

    HH 103 | (361) 698-1226 | eflores@delmar.edu


    Christine Gottemoller

    HH 220 | (361) 698-1146 | egottemoller@delmar.edu

    Education

    M.S.ed., Higher Education, Southern Illinois University
    M.A., Political Studies, University of Illinois at Springfield
    B.A., Communication, University of Illinois at Springfield


    Paul Gottemoller

    HH 204 | (361) 698-1698 | pgottemo@delmar.edu


    Renato Ramirez

    HH 226 | (361) 698-1631 | rramirez@delmar.edu

    Education:
    M.A., Political Science and History, Texas A&M-Kingsville (1988)
    B.A., Political Science and Psychology, Texas A&I-Kingsville (1978)

    Courses:
    Government 2305 (Federal)
    Government 2306 (Texas)

    Additional Information:
    Born in San Diego, Texas
    Graduated from Alice High School (1972)
    Employed at Del Mar College in 1990
    US Army Veteran-Active Duty and Active Reserve


    James Weber

    HH 218 | (361) 698-1669 | jweber@delmar.edu


  • Psychology

    Jackie Adamson

    HH 209 | (361) 698-1220 | jadamson@delmar.edu


    Beatriz Alvarado

    HH 208 | (361) 698-1360 | balvarado4@delmar.edu

    Education:
    Ph.D, Psychology, Public Policy, and Law, University of Arizona
    M.A., Psychology, University of Arizona
    B.A., Psychology, University of Texas at El Paso

    Additional Information:
    First-generation college student
    Long-term goal: Begin an "innocence project" working on local cases


    Stephanie Ding

    HH 212 | (361) 698-1625 | sding@delmar.edu


    Teresa Klein

    HH 114 | (361) 698-1629 | tklein@delmar.edu


    Monique Saenz

    HH 222 | (361) 698-1157 | msaenz@delmar.edu


    Ray Saenz

    HH 117 | (361) 698-1633 | rasaenz@delmar.edu


  • Sociology/Social Work

    Ronald Huskin

    HH 207 | (361) 698-2138 | rhuskin@delmar.edu


    Russ Long

    HH 216 | (361) 698-1627 | rlong@delmar.edu


  • Adjunct Faculty

    • Catherine Albert
    • Sudeshna Bhattacharyya
    • Pluma Beyer
    • John Boudreau
    • Judith Broll
    • Lisa Dawn Centennial
    • Herminio Ibanez
    • Olivia Lopez
    • Frank McMilan
    • James Michael Reed
    • Cecilia Rhoades
    • Christon Salinas
    • Glenn Simmons
    • Stephen Simmons
    • Jeanne Valentine
    • Regina Weir

Page last updated August 15, 2018.

Related Links

Contact Information

Social Sciences
101 Baldwin Blvd.
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
(361) 698-1228