Audition and Scholarships

Audition and Scholarships

What to prepare for the audition

Brass and Woodwinds

Memorize Major Scales up to 4 sharps/flats. A prepared solo from the UIL Prescribed Music List (Grade 1 or 2) or All-State etude.

Percussion

Prepare at least 2 UIL (Grade 1 or 2) or All-State etudes from the following instrument choices: snare drum, marimba, timpani. You can choose which two instruments to audition on. We will have the percussion instruments for you to play. In addition, please prepare your major scales on marimba, memorized up to 4 sharps/flats.

Guitar

Contact Philip Hii at (361) 698-1603 or phii@delmar.edu for information about appropriate repertoire, etc.

Strings

Contact Todd Ehle (violin/viola) at (361) 698-1223 or tehle@delmar.edu or Susan Sturman (cello/bass) at (361) 698-1612 for information about appropriate repertoire, etc.

Voice

Contact Cynthia Longoria at (361) 698-1607 or clongoria@delmar.edu; Raphael Rada at (361) 698-1606 or rrada@delmar.edu ; Dr. Greg Graf at (361) 698-1352 or ggraf@delmar.edu for information about appropriate repertoire, etc.

Piano

Contact David Sutanto at (361) 698-1614 or dsutanto@delmar.edu or Shao-Shan Chen at (361) 698-1611 or schen@delmar.edu for information about appropriate repertoire, etc.

Sound Recording Technology

Contact Paul Bissell at (361) 698-1618 or pbissell@delmar.edu for more information.

Steps to complete the application

  • Complete the scholarship application online
  • High School Seniors only - Ask your high school guidance counselor to complete the Music Scholarship Counselor's Form.
  • Call the Del Mar College Music Department at (361) 698-1211 to set up an audition time.

Mail scholarship applications to:

Chairperson, Scholarship Committee
Department of Music
Del Mar College
101 Baldwin Blvd.
Corpus Christi, TX 78404-3897

Page last updated April 11, 2018.

2018 Music Scholarship Audition Dates

  • March 30 - In conjunction with Discover Music at Del Mar College Day
  • April 7
  • Or by appointment

To schedule an audition time or for more information, call (361) 698-1211 or email music@delmar.edu.

Contact Information

Department of Music
(361) 698-1211
(361) 698-1620 (fax)
music@delmar.edu

Location

Fine Arts Center
101 Baldwin Blvd.
Corpus Christi, TX 78404