DMC Student Publications Earn Staffers 36 TIPA Awards Combined

Article by: Rosa Linda Reynoso

For journalism students attending colleges and universities across the state, the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) competition puts their talents to the test.

Del Mar College (DMC) journalism students who oversee and write for the College’s two student publications––the campus newspaper, Foghorn, and magazine, Siren––brought home 36 awards from TIPA’s annual competition and live contests after attending the association’s conference in Dallas recently. 

Among the accomplishments were twelve first place, nine second place and seven third place TIPA awards along with eight honorable mentions. Topping off that accomplishment, Foghorn Editor-in-Chief Natalie Murphy received a $400 Mike Warms Scholarship for two-year students. 

For the category Staff/Group, DMC students won first place for the Online Interactivity (, second place in Editorial, Overall Excellence (print version) and Website Navigation ( and second place for Literary Magazine Overall Excellence (Siren).

The complete list of students and awards are as follows with some awards duplicated if won by more than one student): 

Desiree Arnold, first place for Sports Column; Cayce Berryman, first place for Literary Magazine Story Package, Picture Story, Literary Magazine Feature Story and Literary Magazine Photo Essay, second place for Feature Page Design, third place for Literary Magazine Feature Photo and honorable mentions for News Story, Literary Magazine Photo Essay and Literary Magazine Story Package; Bill Eaves, honorable mention for Critical Review; Meagan Falcon, first place for News Photo, Region 8 SPJ (now moves on to national competition) and for Designer of the Year, second place for Single Subject Presentation and Feature Story, third place for Information Graphic and honorable mention for Multimedia Package; Sarah Fecht, first place for Picture Story, second place for Feature Page Design, third place for News Feature Story and honorable mention for Multimedia Package; Emily Jasso, first place for Editorial Cartoon (on-site live contest) and Editorial Cartoon; Michelle Mirelez, first place for Sports Page Design and Sports Action Photo, second place for Headline and honorable mention for Two-Person Photo Essay (on-site live contest); Christian Mora, third place for Literary Magazine Short Story; Natalie Murphy, second place for Single Subject Presentation and honorable mentions for Two-Person Photo Essay (on-site live contest) and Sports Action Photo; Josselyn Obregon, first place for Radio Announcing Spanish (on-site live contest), second place for Spanish News Writing and third place for Spanish News Writing; Dominic Perez, third place for Sports News Story; and Vivien Sanchez, third place for Literary Magazine Feature Story.

TIPA is the oldest collegiate press association in the nation and has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country. Contests have grown from three initial competitions to contests in general magazine, radio, television, online, two divisions of yearbook, two divisions of literary magazine and four divisions of newspaper, plus more than a dozen on-site contests during their annual convention.

IN THE PHOTO: Del Mar College students won several awards during the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association’s recent competition in Dallas, including Natalie Murphy (left), Emily Jasso, Mark Young, Adriana King, Katie Babbit, Dominic Perez, Josselyn Obregon, Michelle Mirelez, Associate Professor of Journalism Robert Muilenburg, Jonathan Garcia and Lab Advisor Scott Beckett. 

Recent News

Read the latest news, watch Del Mar TV’s shows Upside and Del Mar NOW, find out about the latest events, and more.